Captain Obvious 70 Posted July 20 4 hours ago, Zebra Frog said: Answer: False Once a player possesses the ball while grounded, it’s a dead ball. It is reviewable and in this case would reverse the call and it would be B’s ball, 1/10. Good job. Maybe that one was too easy. 😉 Obviously, it sounds like only the Captain got it correct. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zebra Frog 1,273 Posted July 21 Question #5. (A little more difficult) A, 4/10 at A-5. Punter A80 is standing in his own End Zone when he punts. The ball crosses the neutral zone and strikes B95 in the helmet at the A-8. The ball then rebounds back into A’s End Zone, where A95 recovers it and carries it to the A10. Ruling: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Burner 957 Posted July 21 I believe something like that happened in the Oregon Alamo Bowl, only it wasn't in the end zone and the Oregon back ran it far enough to get a first down. My guess is because the ball crossed the line of scrimmage before being touched by B, this becomes a change of possession, A gets a first down at the 10. Had they downed the ball in the end zone, it would b a touchback and they get the ball at the 20. 1 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Feeling Froggy 2,982 Posted July 21 Just now, Burner said: I believe something like that happened in the Oregon Alamo Bowl, only it wasn't in the end zone and the Oregon back ran it far enough to get a first down. My guess is because the ball crossed the line of scrimmage before being touched by B, this becomes a change of possession, A gets a first down at the 10. Had they downed the ball in the end zone, it would b a touchback and they get the ball at the 20. What I was thinking of as well. A's ball, first and 10, at the A10. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
frogtwang 3,170 Posted July 22 21 hours ago, Feeling Froggy said: What I was thinking of as well. A's ball, first and 10, at the A10. +4 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zebra Frog 1,273 Posted July 23 On 7/21/2019 at 10:16 AM, Zebra Frog said: Question #6. (A little more difficult) A, 4/10 at A-5. Punter A80 is standing in his own End Zone when he punts. The ball crosses the neutral zone and strikes B95 in the helmet at the A-8. The ball then rebounds back into A’s End Zone, where A95 recovers it and carries it to the A10. Ruling: Safety The ball becomes dead when A95 recovers it because it was a scrimmage kick that had crossed the neutral zone. The impetus of the kick is what put the ball in the EZ. If the kick had been blocked, A95 could have advanced it. (Yeah, this one was a little tricky) 4 1 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zebra Frog 1,273 Posted August 5 Question #7 Team A 4/10 at their own 30 yard line. Kicker A88 takes the snap and starts running toward the right side. He crosses the A-30, gets to the A-32, then retreats to the A-29 and punts the ball. True or False - A88 has committed a foul for crossing the line of scrimmage, retreating behind the line of scrimmage and kicking the ball. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
frogtwang 3,170 Posted August 5 If A88 kicked while across the neutral zone, I believe it would be a 5 yard penalty and loss of down (same as illegal forward pass) This is a penalty, but I’m not sure on the actual placement of the ball. Going to go with true? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Senor Ballistico 987 Posted August 6 Question #7 = TRUE! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
$mooth 1,759 Posted August 6 I'd say True, but it feels like there's got to be something more to it. He technically kicked from behind the line of scrimmage. If a QB ran pas the line of scrimmage, then retreated behind it, i believe its still an illegal forward pass. I feel like it should be the same for a kicker. 2 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zebra Frog 1,273 Posted August 16 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m4LXXVdPCTM Dean Blandino explains the new targeting rule for 2019. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
frogtwang 3,170 Posted August 16 On 8/5/2019 at 10:36 AM, Zebra Frog said: Question #7 Team A 4/10 at their own 30 yard line. Kicker A88 takes the snap and starts running toward the right side. He crosses the A-30, gets to the A-32, then retreats to the A-29 and punts the ball. True or False - A88 has committed a foul for crossing the line of scrimmage, retreating behind the line of scrimmage and kicking the ball. Still going with true, this is a foul. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Army Frog Fan 1,818 Posted August 16 On 8/5/2019 at 10:36 AM, Zebra Frog said: Question #7 Team A 4/10 at their own 30 yard line. Kicker A88 takes the snap and starts running toward the right side. He crosses the A-30, gets to the A-32, then retreats to the A-29 and punts the ball. True or False - A88 has committed a foul for crossing the line of scrimmage, retreating behind the line of scrimmage and kicking the ball. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zebra Frog 1,273 Posted August 16 On 8/5/2019 at 10:36 AM, Zebra Frog said: Question #7 Team A 4/10 at their own 30 yard line. Kicker A88 takes the snap and starts running toward the right side. He crosses the A-30, gets to the A-32, then retreats to the A-29 and punts the ball. True or False - A88 has committed a foul for crossing the line of scrimmage, retreating behind the line of scrimmage and kicking the ball. FALSE This would be true if it is the QB and he throws a pass, even if behind the line of scrimmage. It's ok if the kicker retreats behind the line and then kicks the ball. 4 1 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Burner 957 Posted August 16 4 hours ago, Zebra Frog said: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m4LXXVdPCTM Dean Blandino explains the new targeting rule for 2019. So instead of the call is upheld unless replay has conclusive proof it should be reversed, the targeting call is overturned unless review can conclusively confirm it. Targeting is such a stiff penalty, I like that. 3 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zebra Frog 1,273 Posted August 17 Question #8 On a Try from B’s 8 yard line, A2 takes the snap, advances to B’s 4 yard and fumbles. The fumble rolls into B’s endzone, where B1 bats the ball across the end line. This is a foul for illegal batting in the endzone and results in a 1 point safety for Team A. True or False Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
NewfoundlandFreeFrog 2,466 Posted August 17 27 minutes ago, Zebra Frog said: Question #8 On a Try from B’s 8 yard line, A2 takes the snap, advances to B’s 4 yard and fumbles. The fumble rolls into B’s endzone, where B1 bats the ball across the end line. This is a foul for illegal batting in the endzone and results in a 1 point safety for Team A. True or False True, I think. It seems a variant of a conversion safety???? But why is there a try from the 8? Is that some other rule? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
frogtwang 3,170 Posted August 17 21 minutes ago, Zebra Frog said: Question #8 On a Try from B’s 8 yard line, A2 takes the snap, advances to B’s 4 yard and fumbles. The fumble rolls into B’s endzone, where B1 bats the ball across the end line. This is a foul for illegal batting in the endzone and results in a 1 point safety for Team A. True or False True Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zebra Frog 1,273 Posted August 17 1 hour ago, NewfoundlandFreeFrog said: True, I think. It seems a variant of a conversion safety???? But why is there a try from the 8? Is that some other rule? Had a 5 yard penalty from previous play that was a try. But that is immaterial. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gofrogs152 1,205 Posted August 18 On 8/16/2019 at 11:30 AM, Zebra Frog said: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m4LXXVdPCTM Dean Blandino explains the new targeting rule for 2019. I actually appreciated the further definition of a defenseless player. Had never heard it defines as someone in the act of throwing a pass or someone in the act of catching a ball. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zebra Frog 1,273 Posted August 18 On 8/16/2019 at 7:34 PM, Zebra Frog said: Question #8 On a Try from B’s 8 yard line, A2 takes the snap, advances to B’s 4 yard and fumbles. The fumble rolls into B’s endzone, where B1 bats the ball across the end line. This is a foul for illegal batting in the endzone and results in a 1 point safety for Team A. True or False False All good guesses, but wrong. The foul for illegal batting is enforced from the end of the run, which is the B-4 yard line. The try will be replayed from the B-2 (half the distance from the goal line). 3 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites